2022 FIFA World Cup Venues

The 22nd edition of the FIFA World Cup will be played in Qatar from November 20, 2022, to December 18, 2022. Qatar won the hosting right of the tournament in 2010. This will be first-ever FIFA World Cup hosted by an Arabic country. Generally, previous FIFA World Cups were hosted during the June-July months, however, due to the intense summer heat of Qatar, the matches will be played in November and December months. During the 29 days of the 2022 FIFA World Cup, a total of 64 matches will be played across 8 different stadiums in 5 different host cities.

Total 32 teams will be selected for the tournament, out of these 31 teams will undergo a qualification process while Qatar will be selected as hosts for the tournament. The competition format for the 2022 FIFA World Cup is as such that these teams will be divided into 8 groups of 4 teams each. The matches will be played in two stages, one being the group stage which will be in round-robin format while the next stage will be the knockout stage which is the single-elimination stage in which the team losing any match will be out of contention to win the trophy.

The Group stage of the tournament will start on November 21, 2022, and end on December 2, 2022. The performance of the teams during the group stage will be evaluated on the basis of the 2022 FIFA World Cup Points Table. The first match of the tournament will be played at the Al Bayt Stadium in Al Khor while the all-important final match will be played in the Lusail Iconic Stadium in Lusail.

A total of 8 stadiums has been selected in 5 different host cities. The details of the same are as under:-

Host CityStadium (s)
LusailLusail Iconic Stadium
Al KhorAl Bayt Stadium
Al WakrahAl Janoub Stadium
DohaStadium 974
Al Thumama Stadium
Al RayyanEducation City Stadium
Ahmed bin Ali Stadium
Khalifa International Stadium

If you are planning to visit Qatar to experience the tournament then you need to have a 2022 FIFA World Cup Ticket and Hayya Card in order to enter the stadium and the state of Qatar.