History of Official Mascot for FIFA World Cups

The Official Mascot for the FIFA World Cups was first introduced in the year 1966 when the tournament was hosted by England and since then every FIFA World Cup featured a unique mascot for the tournament.  Generally, the selected mascot has some or the other unique feature of host nation/s and which in turn is a great way of expressing the spirit of the host nation. The role of the official mascot of FIFA world cup is not just for entertaining the crowd and fans but it also promotes the game in its unique way.

There have been different mascots for the various FIFA World Cups and most of them signify a unique feature of the host country some of them were a famous animal, vegetables, fruit, or children. The table below shows all the mascots used in past in FIFA World Cups:-

YearHost CountryMascot
1966EnglandWorld Cup Willie (lion)
1970MexicoJuanito (boy)
1974West GermanyTip and Tap (two boys)
1978ArgentinaGauchito (footballer)
1982SpainNaranjito (Orange)
1986MexicoPique (hot Pepper)
1990ItalyCiao (Stick figure player)
1994USAStriker (Dog)
1998FranceFootix (Cockerel)
2002Korea/JapanSpheriks (energy)
2006GermanyGoleo VI (lion)
2010South AfricaZakumi (leopard)
2014BrazilFuleco (Three-banded armadillo)
2018RussiaZabivaka (Wolf)

About Varun Sharma

Varun Sharma is an avid sports fan and loves to read and write about latest sporting activities happening around the world.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *